HOPEWELL AREA SCHOOL BOARD

REORGANIZATION MEETING

DECEMBER 5, 2017

The following new and reelected board members were sworn in by District Judge, Janet Swihart, prior to the meeting:

Daniel Caton Lesia Dobo Darren Newberry Kathryn Oblak Jeffrey Winkle

The Board of Directors of the Hopewell Area School District met in regular session on Tuesday, December 5, 2017 in the Board Room of the Administration Building, 2354 Brodhead Road, Hopewell Township for the purpose of effecting a permanent organization of the Board in compliance with Section 404 of the Public School Code of 1949, as amended, and any other business which may come before the Board of Directors.

Mrs. Dobo, Vice President of the Board, called the meeting to order at 7:05 p.m. Prayer and flag salute was led by Dr. Miller. Roll call by the secretary followed. Those Directors in attendance were:

John Bowden Daniel Caton Lesia Dobo Rob Harmotto Lori McKittrick Darren Newberry Kathryn Oblak Daniel Santia Jeffrey Winkle

Also in attendance were: Dr. Michelle Miller, Superintendent; John Salopek, Solicitor; Jennifer Conrad, Business Administrator; Nancy Barber, Secretary; Doug Rowe, Principal; and citizens.

Motion by John Bowden, seconded by Rob Harmotto, to nominate Lesia Dobo as Temporary President. Motion carried by a unanimous vote of all Directors in attendance. Mrs. Dobo called for nominations for President. Motion by Lori McKittrick to nominate Lesia Dobo as President of the Board. There being no other nominations for President, Motion by John Bowden, second by Rob Harmotto, nominations for President closed.

Roll Call vote for Lesia Dobo as President of the Board of Directors. Motion carried unanimously by an affirmative vote of all Directors present.

Mrs. Dobo called for nominations for Vice President. Motion by Rob Harmotto to nominate John Bowden as Vice President of the Board. There being no other nominations for Vice President, Motion by Jeff Winkle, seconded by Daniel Santia, nominations for Vice President closed.

Roll call vote for John Bowden as Vice President of the Board of Directors. Motion carried unanimously by an affirmative vote of all Directors present.

At this time Dr. Miller and Mrs. Conrad reviewed the agenda in its entirety.

Education/Curriculum/Instruction: Mrs. Dobo, Chair

- 1. Informational:
 - a. 2017-2018 December enrollment figures.
 - b. December 2017 Activities Calendars for all buildings.
 - c. BVIU School Board Notes for November, 2017.

Legislative: Mr. Winkle, Chair; Ms. McKittrick, Co-Chair

Recommendation to approve the following:

- 1. Work and Business meeting dates for discussion and conducting any other general business that may come before the Board of Directors, as presented. (Attachment)
- 2. Board President will identify new chair and co-chair for each committee.

Personnel: Mr. Harmotto, Chair

Recommendation to approve the following:

- 1. Employment of Loretta Andrews as a substitute custodian, effective November 16, 2017.
- 2. Employment of Melina Bufalini as a lifeguard, effective November 15, 2017.
- 3. Resignation of Anthony Altieri, custodian, effective December 31, 2017.

4. Employment of Belinda Pleslusky as a transportation aide, effective November 15, 2017.

The following items are for action on December 19, 2017.

Education/Curriculum/Instruction:

Recommendation to approve the following:

- 1. Dual Enrollment Agreement by and between the Hopewell Area School District and Robert Morris University.
- 2. Free school privileges for Bryce Nickols to attend Hopewell Elementary School for the remainder of the 2017-2018 school year.

Buildings and Grounds:

Recommendation to approve the following:

1. Host Ed Camp Pittsburgh on Saturday, March 24, 2018 from 8:00 a.m. until 2:00 p.m. at the Junior High School for educators from various districts to participate in personalized professional development. Mrs. Kylee Babish, Junior High teacher, will be organizing this event.

Finance and Budget:

Recommendation to approve the following:

- 1. Appointment of Diane Palsa as Delinquent Real Estate Tax Collector for Hopewell Township for 2016 school taxes for period December 31, 2017 through April 15, 2018.
- 2. Appointment of Mary Ellen Oros as Delinquent Real Estate Tax Collector for Independence Township for 2016 school taxes for period December 31, 2017 through April 15, 2018.
- 3. Appointment of Pam Petrella as Delinquent Real Estate Tax Collector for Raccoon Township for 2016 school taxes for period December 31, 2017 through April 15, 2018.
- 4. Contract with BerkOne to process the District's Act 80 records at an approximate cost of \$732.00.
- 5. Request of Walter Gray to purchase tax parcel #65-001-0903.000 located at 644 Monaca Road out of repository. The 2015-2016 and prior years taxes shall be exonerated.

VISITORS

No visitors wished to address the Board.

At this time Dr. Miller returned to Legislative for action items.

Legislative by Mr. Winkle

MOTION #1

By Jeff Winkle, seconded by John Bowden, to schedule the next Board meeting for December 19, 2017. MOTION carried unanimously by an affirmative vote of all Directors in attendance.

At this time Mrs. Dobo gave a tentative list of Committee Chairs and Co-Chairs.

Education/Curriculum/Instruction:	Jeff Winkle, Chair – Rob Harmotto, Co-Chair
Athletics:	Darren Newberry, Chair – Daniel Santia, Co-Chair
Buildings/Grounds	Daniel Santia, Chair – Lesia Dobo, Co-Chair
Finance/Budget	Lori McKittrick, Chair – John Bowden, Co-Chair
Legislative	Kathryn Oblak, Chair – Daniel Caton, Co-Chair
Personnel	Rob Harmotto, Chair – Lori McKittrick, Co-Chair
Transportation	Jeff Winkle, Chair – Kathryn Oblak, Co-Chair

Personnel by Mr. Harmotto

MOTION #2

By Rob Harmotto, seconded by Jeff Winkle, to approve the employment of Loretta Andrews as a substitute custodian, effective November 16, 2017. MOTION carried unanimously by an affirmative vote of all Directors in attendance.

MOTION #3

By Rob Harmotto, seconded by Lori McKittrick, to approve the employment of Melina Bufalini as a lifeguard, effective November 15, 2017. MOTION carried unanimously by an affirmative vote of all Directors in attendance.

MOTION #4

By Rob Harmotto, seconded by John Bowden, to accept the resignation of Anthony Altieri, custodian, effective December 31, 2017. MOTION carried unanimously by an affirmative vote of all Directors in attendance.

MOTION #5

By Rob Harmotto, seconded by Dan Santia, to approve the employment of Belinda Pleslusky as a transportation aide, effective November 15, 2017. MOTION carried unanimously by an affirmative vote of all Directors in attendance.

EXECUTIVE SESSION

An Executive Session was held following the meeting to discuss personnel and legal matters. This announcement is being made to be in compliance with Act 84 of 1986, Pennsylvania's Sunshine Law, as amended

ADJOURNMENT

There being no further discussion or recommendations to come before the Board of Directors, Mrs. Dobo asked for a motion for adjournment.

Motion by Rob Harmotto, seconded by Jeff Winkle, that the meeting be adjourned. Motion carried. Mrs. Dobo adjourned the meeting at 7:25 p.m.

HOPEWELL AREA SCHOOL BOARD

Lesia Dobo, Board President

Nancy M. Barber, Secretary